For there you have been and there you will long to return

by juliakeil

Has it really been 5 months since my last post? Where time goes these days is beyond me. I don’t know if it is the city I live in, my lifestyle, my age or just the general fast paced nature of today’s everyday. Whatever it may be, life is passing by all too quickly and I find myself saying “I don’t have time” or “I’m so busy lately”, a little too often for my liking.

With this in mind, as well as the growing desire to finally dig through and (eventually) organise my catalogs of photographic files, I’ve decided to start. Now, often when you attempt to tackle what seems like a mountain, you don’t really know where to start and you just end up clicking on a few files, reminiscing in the moment and then deciding you’re tired and going to bed. This almost happened tonight but instead of clicking away and giving in to my heavy eyelids, my mouse immediately gravitated towards images I took in Mongolia, a brief trip I made last August.

Perhaps it’s the urge for adventure that has been scratching at my skin, perhaps it’s something more that got me to uncover these photographs.. whatever it was, I’m finally letting them breathe a little. This brings me back to time. There is a therapy in going back through images taken in a past moment. Time has a magical way of revealing things to you, you never would have seen before.

When I look back at these photographs I took, I don’t just see Mongolia, I see childhood. I see wonder. I see generations and a certain lightness. ┬áI see myself and my thinking reflected in these images, which I suppose might seem obvious since I took them in reaction to instinct, but their meaning changes the moment you, yourself realise why you took them..and this┬árealisation, as with many things in life, takes time.

“For once you have tasted flight, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.” – Leonardo da Vinci

Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-1 Mongolia_2014_01 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-6 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-15 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-4 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-8 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-2 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-14 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-5 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-9 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-10 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-13 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-11 Mongolia_Aug_Rollei_2014-16

