The roadside sellers

by juliakeil

I believe in first impressions. Whenever I visit a new country for the first time, I like to appreciate the things I notice first because very often it’s those feelings and those observations which fade the fastest. When you first set foot on new land, your virgin eyes graze your new surroundings hungrily and you sit at the edge of your seat, anticipating every next frame.

Not long ago I went on such a journey to a country I’ve been intrigued by for some time. In late July, I got a taste of Mongolia, where my brother now resides and throughout that journey I was at times, quite literally, on the edge of my car seat with excitement. The whole trip, which only lasted a few days, left quite an impression on me. One which I hope to share more of in future posts.

For now, I just want to share one of the facets of Mongolia, more specifically, of Ulan Bator and the area surrounding it, which I noticed first off.

‘The roadside sellers’

Flashes of silhouettes that pass by like blinkers
Faces that form too quickly to figure
Out in the middle of nowhere
Those specks decorate the rocky roads that carry them.
Squinting eyes can’t decipher them until they magnify and appear
By your side, framed in the outline of your windowpane.
Each figure dangles plastic filled with an uncertain entity or a questionable cup in hand.
They stand.
They perch.
They sell.
Statues that sell.
And faces; dark faces with furrowed brows protecting them from the unforgiving sun
pass by
and by.

 

the_road_sellers-1

the_road_sellers-6

the_road_sellers-3

the_road_sellers-9

the_road_sellers-7

the_road_sellers-4

the_road_sellers-5

the_road_sellers-8

the_road_sellers-2

