The call

by juliakeil

Scan-140310-0039

I’ve been missing people. Missing people that are overseas and even some which are in close proximity to me but have somehow felt far. There was one week in particular where things just didn’t flow and I felt somewhat disconnected from everything. It was during this week and on a day that I felt especially low, that I received a call from an old friend in London. Her call came after a few urgent messages pushing me to speak to her and was received on the hectic streets of Hong Kong. It was the first time I had heard her voice in over a year. We had hardly exchanged a recognizable sentence when I realized I already felt closer to her. As the words began to flow, the suddenness of hers took me completely by surprise and immediately triggered an emotional reaction as a walked down the street with her voice in my ears. She told me how much our friendship means to her and how she values me as a person and doesn’t want to lose me as a friend. She said these few words and then had to go. That was all. The phone call lasted maybe 10 minutes but it was all I needed at that moment.

Her words both warmed and tore at me heart. I wished to see her again. I wish it were easier and I wish teleportation existed already.

Yes, I miss my friends all over the world but I sure am lucky to even have such friends. I guess that’s a down side to hopping all over the globe your whole life, your friends end up being spread everywhere like melted butter on toast. If you’re not careful, it may just spill over the edge and disappear. I guess you can apply that to any friendship. I know I’ll never be one of those people who have all their friends in one place. And even though I may dream about it from time to time, I realize that perhaps it’s actually better this way.

Each person comes with their own context, their own associations, own stories, environments, their own worlds. Sometimes two worlds touch and entwine, leaving their impressions on one another and it is then that a friendship is formed. Having them all in one place would not only be selfish but would rid them of their uniqueness. This way I know I have people that care for me, that love me and think of me, just as I think of them, all over the globe. The thing that sometimes slips my mind, is remembering that.

Sometimes, you forget. You think you are alone, even though you’re far from it and sometimes, if you’re lucky, at those specific moments, the universe sends you a sign. A life sign filled with good intention and purity. Filled with love. It tells you, remember, you are not alone in this pile of a planet. This call, on that day, was one of those signs.

It was brief, it was pure, it was so much more than just a phone call. It was so simple and completely priceless. It cracked at my soul and let it pour onto the concrete, exposing my vulnerability to passing eyes. But I really didn’t care. I was happy and I basked in the warm embrace of this welcomed gesture.

This whole experience made me think. We really don’t tell each other that we love and appreciate one another enough. At least I think the majority of people don’t. And I wonder, why? Is it a fear of vulnerability? Is it egotism? Is it us just assuming that people know? Sometimes it’s hard to focus on anything else except what is straight in front of you. The world swings so much at you daily that it gets hard to expand your thoughts and your focus. But when you do, it’s worth it.

I guess what I’m trying to say with this post, and please forgive me if I’ve come across as cheesy here, is that I am truly thankful to have the friends and family that I do. Even if I don’t always show it, even if you don’t hear from me for a while, I am thinking of you.

So perhaps next time, rather then just wondering about a friend, a family member or a lover on the other side of the globe or even right in front of me, rather than letting the daily grind blind my eyes to what and who is truly important, I’ll pick up my phone, find that person and simply press call. Perhaps you should too.

