An old flame

by juliakeil

Time has passed and it has passed quickly. It’s been one of those months which dance and twirl in front of you so fast that you’re not even sure if it really happened. Somewhat like a hangover. You feel the remnants of the moments prior but the memories just feel a bit…jumbled.

So this, was June. I know some memorable changes happened this month and perhaps it’s these changes that have caused this blur. Perhaps I’m still digesting. At the start of June I moved from Leipzig, Germany where I’d been staying the past few months since leaving London back in March, to Hong Kong. I’ve said and experienced many goodbyes this year from people who will forever have a reserve in my heart. I’ve also said hello to old friends and new acquaintances since being back. I say back because I partially grew up in Hong Kong and spent most of my teenage years in this bizarre, fast paced city. I have been away for about 8 years and not long ago decided to revisit this old home for a while and see it with a set of new, upgraded eyes.

This ‘coming home’ has been somewhat strange. It has been both familiar and alienating. It’s a little like getting to know an old flame again. You know you have a history together. Sometimes you grew together and other times, you grew apart. Sometimes you loved so much you couldn’t imagine being anywhere else and other times you craved the change a new place would bring. With this baggage reflected in my eyes I’ve come back, yet the experience that time has given me in new places and new people these past 8 years, has allowed me to notice details I never noticed before, see facets of this city I was never aware of and it excites me knowing that there is so much more to learn and discover.

Just as I have changed, so has Hong Kong. Some say it’s never a good idea to get back together with an old love but I guess, as always, only time will tell how this reunion will work out.

I have a few Hong Kong based projects in the pipe-line which I’ll be working on over the course of the year but for now, here are a few impressions taken on my D700. You can also see my instagram for more impressions.

June_Hong_Kong_2013-24

Layers

June_Hong_Kong_2013-79

Off-duty

June_Hong_Kong_2013-48

The other side

June_Hong_Kong_2013-83

Constant company

June_Hong_Kong_2013-74

Napping in transit

June_Hong_Kong_2013-22

A seat not taken

June_Hong_Kong_2013-111

This city pulls shapes

June_Hong_Kong_2013-113

Time for pause

June_Hong_Kong_2013-77

Going home

June_Hong_Kong_2013-76

Matching

June_Hong_Kong_2013-52

Visitors

June_Hong_Kong_2013-33

Shelter

June_Hong_Kong_2013-28

Disjointed in connection

June_Hong_Kong_2013-17

Finding ones way

June_Hong_Kong_2013-65

Through the glass

June_Hong_Kong_2013-62

“I must get this”

June_Hong_Kong_2013-107

Egg-tarts

June_Hong_Kong_2013-102

Like liquid reflections

June_Hong_Kong_2013-92

Cloaked identities

June_Hong_Kong_2013-39

Got the moves like Bruce Lee

June_Hong_Kong_2013-32

The lunchtime embrace

June_Hong_Kong_2013-4

Hong Kongs water never did run smooth

June_Hong_Kong_2013-60

Tetris

June_Hong_Kong_2013-16

Illusions

June_Hong_Kong_2013-72

Uniforms

June_Hong_Kong_2013-8

Four hours till sunrise

June_Hong_Kong_2013-14

Even the towers have eyes

